Craigievar Castle 克雷吉耶瓦爾城堡
Craigievar Castle is a pinkish harled castle 6 miles (9.7 km) south of Alford, Aberdeenshire, Scotland. It was the seat of Clan Sempill and the Forbes family resided here for 350 years until 1963, when the property was given to the National Trust for Scotland by William Forbes-Sempill, 19th Lord Sempill. The setting is among scenic rolling foothills of the Grampian Mountains. The contrast of its massive lower storey structure to the finely sculpted multiple turrets, gargoyles and high corbelling work create a classic fairytale appearance.
Craigievar城堡是一座粉紅色的城堡，位於蘇格蘭阿伯丁郡Alford以南6英里（9.7公里）處。 它是Clan Sempill的所在地，福布斯家族在這里居住了350年，直到1963年，當時該財產由William Forbes-Sempill，第19位Lord Sempill送給蘇格蘭國民委員會。 該地區位於格蘭扁山脈風景秀麗的山麓之中。 其巨大的低層結構與精雕細刻的多個砲塔，怪獸和高劍架的對比營造出經典童話般的外觀。
An excellent example of the original Scottish Baronial architecture, the great seven-storey castle was completed in 1626 by the Aberdonian merchant William Forbes, ancestor of the Forbes baronets of Craigievar and brother of the Bishop of Aberdeen, Patrick Forbes of Corse Castle. Forbes purchased the partially completed structure from the impoverished Mortimer family in the year 1610. Forbes was nicknamed Danzig Willy, a reference to his shrewd international trading success with the Baltic states.
William’s son became a Baronet of Nova Scotia by Charles I and this title is now extant. The Forbes Baronetcy, of Craigievar in the County of Aberdeen, was created in the Baronetage of Nova Scotia on 20 April 1630 for William Forbes. He was also a descendant of Hon. Patrick Forbes, third son of the second Lord Forbes, and the nephew of the first Baronet of the 1628 creation. The fourth Baronet represented Aberdeenshire in the House of Commons. The 5th Baronet married the Hon. Sarah Sempill, eldest daughter of Hugh Sempill, 12th Lord Sempill. Their grandson, the eighth Baronet, succeeded as seventeenth Lord Sempill in 1884 (see the Lord Sempill for earlier history of this title). The titles remained united until the death of his grandson, the 19th Lord and tenth Baronet, in 1965.
Designed in the L plan, as was Muchalls Castle, which is located in the same region, Craigievar is noted for its exceptionally crafted plasterwork ceilings. Craigevar, Muchalls Castle and Glamis Castle are generally considered to have the three finest ceilings in Scotland. The Clan Forbes family was close friends of the Clan Burnett of Leys, who built both Crathes Castle and Muchalls Castle. The ceilings feature plaster figures of the Nine Worthies and other family emblems.
By the early 19th-century, the tower had fallen into decay. Sir John Forbes had considered demolishing the tower and consulted the Aberdeen city architect John Smith who advised against that course of action, stating the tower was: “one of the finest specimens in the Country of the age and style in which it was built.” Roof repairs were undertaken and involved the re-construction of almost the entire top floor. The windows, external harling and pointing were replaced and it is likely Smith also designed the gardener’s cottage.
The castle originally had more defensive elements including a walled courtyard with four round towers; only one of the round towers remains today. In the arched door to that round tower are preserved the carved initials of Sir Thomas Forbes, William Forbes’ son. There is also a massive iron portcullis or gate covering the entrance door which is named a yett.
The castle interior boasts a Great Hall that has the Stuart Arms over the fireplace; a musicians gallery; secret staircase connecting the high tower to the Great Hall; Queen’s Bedroom; servants’ quarters and of course several splendid plasterwork ceilings. There is a collection of Forbes family portraits inside as well as a considerable quantity of Forbes furnishings dating to the 17th and 18th centuries. The castle also houses two original Henry Raeburn portraits complete with original receipts.
The Forbes family also owned a large granite house at Fintray near Inverurie, Aberdeenshire. This became the family’s main residence for a number of years until the Second World War. During this time, Fintray House was used as a hospital for wounded Belgian soldiers.
Craigievar採用L計劃設計，位於同一地區的Muchalls城堡，以其精心製作的石膏天花板而聞名。 Craigevar，Muchalls城堡和Glamis城堡通常被認為擁有蘇格蘭最好的三個天花板。 Clan Forbes家族是Leys的Clan Burnett的親密朋友，他們建造了Crathes城堡和Muchalls城堡。天花板上飾有Nine Worthies的石膏人物和其他家庭標誌。
城堡內部擁有一個大廳，Stuart Arms在壁爐上;音樂家畫廊;連接高塔和大廳的秘密樓梯;女王的臥室;僕人的宿舍，當然還有幾個華麗的石膏天花板。裡面有一系列福布斯家族肖像，以及可追溯到17世紀和18世紀的大量福布斯家具。這座城堡還有兩張原創亨利·雷伯恩（Henry Raeburn）肖像，內有原始收據。
There are a few reasons why Craigievar Castle in Scotland is not your ordinary country manor experience.
For over three centuries the site was owned by the affluent Forbes family. Its appearance — the pink tinted facade, finely sculpted multiple turrets, ornate corbels and carved stonework — is said to have been an inspiration for Walt Disney’s Cinderella Castle.
An imposing sight, Craigievar has attracted all kinds of onlookers and visitors over the years, even royalty. Queen Victoria was one of them.
The queen was in fact neighbors with the castle, having her Balmoral residence not too far away. On June 18, 1879, she decided to pay an unannounced visit to the alluring pink castle, describing it as a strange and curious place.
Castle tenants must have been pleasantly surprised by such a visit.
三個多世紀以來，該網站由富裕的福布斯家族擁有。它的外觀 – 粉紅色的立面，精雕細刻的多個砲塔，華麗的牛腿和雕刻的石雕 – 據說是沃爾特迪斯尼灰姑娘城堡的靈感來源。
Situated in charming countryside scenery of rolling hills and beautiful woods, Craigievar Castle hides in Aberdeenshire, in the northeast of Scotland.
The Scottish Baronial style edifice can be reached via a single track road that runs from the Scottish village of Alford, just a few miles away.
The castle began as a much simpler tower house, although the L-shaped design was unique for Scotland at that time. It was built by the Mortimers of Craigievar during the late 1500s. The main house, courtyard, and ancillary buildings were all surrounded by an outer defensive wall.
Ownership of Craigievar Estate came to the Forbes family in 1610. William Forbes of Menie, who had made his fortune as a merchant, trading goods between Scotland and the Baltics, purchased Craigievar and decided to spend a huge chunk of his wealth renovating the castle.
Craigievar Estate的所有權於1610年來到福布斯家族。作為商人發財的Menie的William Forbes在蘇格蘭和波羅的海之間進行商品交易，他購買了Craigievar，並決定花費大量財富來翻新城堡。
He deconstructed the existing towers, added extensive stone corbelling on top of the forth story, and topped it off with the wonderful collection of towers, turrets, and viewing platforms that we can see today. The work was completed by 1626. Thanks to subsequent restoration efforts, much of the place is kept as it was in his days.
The Forbes’ used Craigievar as a holiday residence and tourist attraction until the beginning of WWI, when their main family home, Fintray House, was requisitioned for the war effort, so they moved into Craigievar Castle full-time.
Craigievar Castle retained it’s status as family residence after the war came to an end, an idiosyncratic mixture of warm interiors with exceptional artifacts and fine art secluded within its age-old walls, which are rounded at the corners.
But the Forbes family found it difficult to maintain the aging building and began to yearn for a more modern home. The National Trust for Scotland took over running the estate in the 1960s.
Aside from it’s alluring exterior, Craigievar Castle has exceptionally gorgeous plasterwork ceilings inside. From the vaulted hall on the first floor to the many bedrooms and chambers, all are ornately decorated. The main hall also has a hefty fireplace with the royal coat of arms above and various other carvings.
Any castle worth it’s salt has a ghost story or two and Craigievar is no exception.
One of these spooks is said to haunt the Blue Room. He supposedly is the spirit of a man from the rival clan Gordon who was pushed from the window by John Forbes.
Visitors may also get a tingle down their spine in the kitchen, where a musician drowned in the well.
There is no electricity above the first floor so castle-goers are left with the real feel of the castle. The numerous arms and armors, historic artifacts, and paintings can be explored in the natural daylight through the windows, exactly as it was intended by William Forbes.
Over its lengthy history, the castle has been renovated more than once. The first time was by by Sir John Forbes who inherited the castle in 1824. As well as repairing the roof, he had the harling (a traditional Scottish lime-based protective outer coating for the stone building) replaced.
Instead of the original cream color, the architect suggested adding a pigment — the castle was turned pink and has been kept that way ever since.
John was careful to preserve as much as possible of the original furniture and paneling around. When the renovation effort was completed, Craigievar gained such an authentic look that it would lure visitors from afar.
建築師沒有採用原始的奶油色，而是建議添加一種顏料 – 城堡變成了粉紅色，從此一直保持這種狀態。
Subsequent renovations were undertaken by the National Trust. In 1973 the building was again reharled but with a concrete-based mix.
This turned out to be a mistake. The new coating almost caused irreparable damage to the walls that it was supposed to protect from the harsh climate. It didn’t allow the walls to breathe, so damp began to build up. Also it it was less flexible than the traditional lime harl and began to crack, allowing rain to seep in.
In late 2007 the castle was officially shut down to undergo extensive preservation work.
When the concrete harl was removed, the carved stone corbels were revealed for the first time in 30 years. A new coating using old methods was applied by hand to the building, and the interior was also renovated.
When the castle reopened in 2010, there was also a renewed policy to limit the number of visitors allowed inside at any time.
Craigievar Castle remains one of the most beloved sights across all of Scotland.
結果證明這是一個錯誤。 新的塗層幾乎對牆壁造成了不可挽回的損害，它應該能夠抵禦惡劣的氣候。 它不允許牆壁呼吸，所以潮濕開始積聚。 它也不像傳統的石灰哈爾那樣靈活，並開始破裂，讓雨水滲入。
Don’t you think it’s addictive?
Want to know more about the beauty of architecture?
Come and join our members to explore the beauty of architectural design.
The above article is purely for appreciation and sharing purposes, as well as the construction of new technology and the public can be in-depth understanding of the information at the same time there are sources, will be able to query, no use of the document as a commercial transaction, if illegal, please inform the We will immediately remove the site, thank you for cooperation.